I was looking for SSI’s Bhairavi Swarajathi to start the morning with. Searching through my music store I chanced upon a concert by Neyyatinkara Vasudevan. Haven’t heard much of him. I remember a 1 hour programme in FM Gold a couple of years ago. Thats it. Nothing after that. Guess I have downloaded from sangeethapriya sometime ago but never played it.

Did not know how good it would be but gave it a try. God, am I thankful for that. The whole concert is available spanning 3 mp3 files. And stuck gold at 16.5 minutes into the 1st track. I have heard nEnendu vedaguthura before, SSI and Neyveli being the two I remember but they never stuck a chord with me. So I put that song as a has been and never paid attention after that, whoever be the performer. But then when Neyyatinkara started the song, I was hooked. Think, it is the pace at which he started it. IIRC, SSI starts it at a brisker pace whereas Neyyatinkara starts at a sedate pace. Neyyatinkara’s is like a river flowing unhurried in sharp contrast to cascading flows of a rapid in SSI’s version.

Not able to find the link in sangeethapriya for the said concert. Please post the same in the comments if any one of you know it. The dhanyAsi after this is also good. Links/pointers for other concerts welcome 🙂 Thanks in advance!

Here is the list of songs in the concert.

Neyyantinkara Vasudevan

  1. Varna – Natakuranji
  2. Sree Maha Ganapathim-Atana
  3. Nenendu Vedagudhura – Karnataka Behag
  4. Na Morala -Dhanyasi
  5. Smarasada-Bilahari
  6. Eti Janma-Varali
  7. Jaya Jaya Padmanabha – Manirangu
  8. Va Murugha-Begada
  9. Manasuloni-Hindolam
  10. Meenakshi Memudam-Gamakakriya
  11. Eppo Varuvaro-Jopuri
  12. Govardhana-Darbari Kanada
  13. Bhogeendra Shayeenam-Kuntalavarali
  14. Mangalam
